



60th Annual General Membership Meeting (DRAFT) MINUTES

Date: Wednesday, June 23, 2021, 6:30 pm

Location: Zoom

Attendance: 135 participants

1. Welcome to members and guests

- Robert Tomek, President welcomed everyone to the 60th Annual General Meeting. Due to COVID 19 the AGM was held virtually for the second time.
- The agenda and supporting documents were emailed to all registrants and also are posted on the agency's website.
- The voting rules and Zoom tips for the Annual General Meeting were reviewed.
- A quorum was confirmed for the meeting.

2. A Year in Review / Celebration

Robert introduced the year in review slide show and the In Memoriam tribute.

3. Approval of Agenda

• R. Tomek reviewed the agenda and asked for a motion to approve.

AGM6001 Moved by Sue Desjarlais, seconded by Ron Giofu
That the agenda be accepted as written. Carried

4. Introductions and Official Greetings

- R. Tomek introduced the 2020/21 Board of Directors
- The following people shared greetings and were thanked for their continuing support:
 - Warden Gary McNamara on behalf of all Essex County Mayors (a pre-recorded greeting)
 - Rick Nicholls, MPP, Chatham Kent Learnington (written greeting read by Robert Tomek)
 - o Lisa Gretzky, MPP, Windsor West (written greeting read by Robert Tomek)
 - o Percy Hatfield, MPP, Windsor Tecumseh (written greeting read by Robert Tomek)
 - o Chris Lewis, MP, Essex (pre recorded greeting)
 - o Irek Kusmiercyzk, MP, Windsor Tecumseh
 - o Dave Epp, MP, Chatham Kent Leamington
 - o Geoff McMullen, President OASIS
 - o Chris Beesley, CEO, Community Living Ontario
 - o Derek Nardini, Program Supervisor, MCCSS
 - o Kelly Runnalls, Parent Consultant, Ensemble
 - o Brianne Taggart, Co-Chair, New Day

5. Approval of Annual General Membership Meeting Minutes

AGM6002 Moved by Gillian Heisz, seconded by Ron Giofu
That the 59th Annual General Meeting minutes of July 15, 2020 be approved as written.

Carried

6. Report on the Audited Financial Statements, ending March 31, 2021

- presented by Gillian Heisz Treasurer
- the Treasurer's Report and audited financial statements were reviewed

AGM6003	Moved by Robert Tomek, seconded by Ron Giofu
	That the audited Financial Statements for the year ended March 31, 2021 be
	approved as presented. <u>Carried</u>

7. Appointment of Auditor for 2021/2022

Presented by Robert Tomek, President

AGM6004	Moved by Robert Tomek, see	conded by Sue Desjarlais
	That the firm of BDO Canad	a LLP be appointed as the Agency's auditors for
	2021/2022.	Carried

8. Nominations and Elections of the Board of Directors for 2021/2022

- presented by Ron Giofu, Past President and Chair of the Nominating Committee.
- In accordance with the current By-Laws, a committee consisting of two Board Members and three Agency members met twice to bring forward names for nomination to the Board of Directors. The Nominating Committee was comprised of Ron Giofu (Chair), Chad Sutherland, Sandie Hutchinson, Franca Bonanno, Brigitte Gagnon, Karen Bolger (Secretary to the Board), and Linda Hurst (Executive Assistant) as staff resource.
- A notice was sent to all members in February 2021 requesting nominations to the Board of Directors.
- The Nominating Committee confirmed the following list of nominees: Ron Giofu, Gillian Heisz, Michelle Mastellotto, Brianne Taggart, Sharon O'Hagan-Wong
- A notice was sent to all members with the list of nominees and their biographies. The Nominating Committee report was also provided to participants in advance of the AGM.
- Given the Chair, Nominating Committee is also a candidate the following motion was moved by the President.

AGM6005	Moved by Robert Tomek, seconded by Nika Laurin
	That the slate of nominees for the Board of Directors, as presented by the
	Nominating Committee, be accepted to the Board of Directors for 2021/2022.
	Carried

- Congratulations were extended to the Board of Directors for 2021/2022
- At this time all Board Members moved to a Zoom breakout room to elect the Executive for the 2021/2022 year.

9. Approval of Activities of the Board over the Past Year - The Annual Report

- presented by Karen Bolger, Executive Director
- highlights and accomplishments from the past year were presented as documented in the Annual Report.
- Board members were welcomed back.

AGM6006 Moved by Robert Tomek, seconded by Sue Desjarlais That all contracts, bylaws, proceedings, appointments, elections and payments and acts made, done and taken by the Directors and Officers of the Association since the last annual meeting of the members be and the same are hereby approved, ratified and confirmed. Carried

10. Induction of Members to the Board of Directors

- Gerry Trottier, legal counsel with the firm Bartlet & Richardes, was introduced and performed the induction ceremony of the Board of Directors.
- the Board of Directors is pleased to confirm the Executive Committee and Members of the Board:
 - Sue Desiarlais, President
 - Chad Sutherland, 1st Vice President
 - Michelle Mastellotto, 2nd Vice President
 - Gillian Heisz, Treasurer
 - Robert Tomek, Past President
 - Diane Bourbeau, Director
 - Ron Giofu, Director

- Nika Laurin, Director
- Sharon O'Hagan-Wong, Director
- Brianne Taggart, Director
- Secretary to the Board, Karen Bolger, Executive Director
- the newly inducted Board of Directors was thanked and congratulated!

11. Recognition of Board Members

- Karen Bolger highlighted several changes to the Executive Committee:
 - Robert Tomek has moved to the position of Past President and was thanked for his leadership as President over the past three years.
 - o Chad Sutherland has moved from 2nd Vice President to 1st Vice President.
 - o Michelle Mastellotto was welcomed to the Executive Committee as 2nd Vice President
 - o Sue Desjarlais was congratulated and welcomed to the position of President
- Sue Chaired the remainder of the meeting.
- Ray Renaud and Dan Gemus were acknowledged and thanked for their contributions to the Board.
 Both of their terms ended this evening.

12. Motion to Adjourn

• Sue confirmed the award presentations will follow the motion to adjourn the business portion of the AGM.

AGM6007	Moved by Ron Giofu, seconded by Michelle Mastellotto That the 60 th Annual General Meeting be adjourned at 7:45 pm.
	<u>Carried</u>

13. Awards and Presentations

- Last year the AGM did not include awards given full attention was on the pandemic and conducting
 mandatory business items only. The awards returned this year and were presented in advance of the
 AGM, following all COVID 19 guidance to the following recipients:
 - o Sam Raffoul: The Bruce Crozier Inspiring Possibilities Memorial Award
 - o Nathan Wuerth: The Jeremy Hart Memorial Bursary
 - o Ryan Ritchie: Outstanding Achievement Award, North Area
 - o David Blackman: Outstanding Achievement Award, South Area
 - o Jacklyn Hertel: Outstanding Achievement Award, West Area
 - o Ray Micklea: Outstanding Achievement Award, Central Area
 - o Phil Roberts: Community Inclusion Award
 - o Jen Rousseau: The Kevin McMullan Memorial Award
- A slide presentation included photos of recipients with their award and quotes from them.
- A yearbook of all employees receiving length of service awards this year was played.
- All award and milestone recipients were congratulated.

14. 60th Celebration Kick Off

- A short teaser was played hinting at upcoming activities to help celebrate the agency's 60th anniversary. The 60 for 60 lottery is underway, a time capsule is planned and a virtual celebration event will take place in September.
- Sue thanked everyone for joining the 60th Annual General Meeting virtually and ended the meeting at 8:12 pm urging everyone to continue to inspire possibilities, stay safe and stay connected.

Minutes taken by Linda Hurst, Executive Assistant