



### 62<sup>ND</sup> ANNUAL GENERAL MEMBERSHIP MEETING (DRAFT) MINUTES

Date: Wednesday, June 21, 2023, 6:30 pm

Location: Zoom

Attendance: 82 registered participants

#### 1. Welcome to members and guests

- Sue Desjarlais, President welcomed everyone to the 62<sup>nd</sup> Annual General Meeting.
- The agenda and supporting documents were emailed to registrants and posted on the agency's website.
- The voting rules and Zoom tips for the Annual General Meeting were reviewed.
- A quorum was confirmed for the meeting.

#### 2. A Year in Review / Celebration

• S. Desjarlais introduced the year in review slide show and the In Memoriam tribute.

#### 3. Land Acknowledgement/National Aboriginal Day

• Special guest Theresa Sims, Indigenous Storyteller read the Land Acknowledgement and presented information on the National Indigenous Peoples Day.

#### 4. Approval of Agenda

S. Desjarlais reviewed the agenda and asked for a motion to approve.

AGM6201	Moved by Robert Tomek, seconded by Gillian Heisz	
	That the agenda be accepted as written. Carried	

#### 5. Introductions and Official Greetings

- S. Desjarlais introduced the 2022/23 Board of Directors
- The following people shared greetings and were thanked for their continuing support:
  - Warden Hilda MacDonald on behalf of all Essex County Mayors (a pre-recorded greeting)
  - o Dr. Robert Walsh, CEO, OASIS
  - o Chris Beesley, CEO, Community Living Ontario
  - o Marilyn Godard, Family Consultant, Ensemble (a pre-recorded greeting)
  - o Brianne Taggart, President, New Day

#### 5. Approval of Annual General Membership Meeting Minutes

AGM6202	Moved by Gillian Heisz, seconded by Robert Tomek		
	That the 61st Annual General Meeting minutes of June 23, 2022 be approved as		
	written.	<u>Carried</u>	

#### 6. Report on the Audited Financial Statements, ending March 31, 2022

- presented by Gillian Heisz Treasurer
- the Treasurer's Report and audited financial statements were reviewed

AGM6203	Moved by Robert Tomek, seconded by Brianne Taggart		
	That the audited Financial Statements for the year ended March 31, 2023 be		
	approved as presented. <u>Carried</u>		

#### 7. Appointment of Auditor for 2023/2024

Presented by Chad Sutherland, 1<sup>st</sup> President

AGM6204	Moved by Robert Tomek, seconded by Gillian Heisz		
That the firm of BDO Canada LLP		anada LLP be appointed as the Agency's auditors for	
	2023/2024.	<u>Carried</u>	

#### 8. Nominations and Elections of the Board of Directors for 2023/2024

- presented by Robert Tomek, Past President and Chair of the Nominating Committee.
- In accordance with the current By-Laws, a committee consisting of two Board Members and three Agency members met twice to bring forward names for nomination to the Board of Directors. The Nominating Committee was comprised of Robert Tomek (Chair), Beth Renaud, Audrey Bajic, Sharon O'Hagan-Wong, Dan Gemus, Karen Bolger (Secretary to the Board), and Linda Hurst (Executive Assistant) as staff resource.
- A notice was sent to all members in March, 2023 requesting nominations to the Board of Directors.
- The Nominating Committee confirmed the following list of nominees: Ron Giofu, Gillian Heisz, Michelle Mastellotto, Brianne Taggart.
- A notice was sent to all members with the list of nominees and their biographies. The Nominating Committee report was also provided to participants in advance of the AGM.

## AGM6205 Moved by Robert Tomek, seconded by Ron Giofu That the slate of nominees for the Board of Directors, as presented by the Nominating Committee, be accepted to the Board of Directors for 2023/2024. Carried

- Congratulations were extended to the Board of Directors for 2023/2024
- At this time all Board Members moved to a Zoom breakout room to elect the Executive for the 2023/2024 year.

#### 9. Approval of Activities of the Board over the Past Year - The Annual Report

- presented by Karen Bolger, Executive Director
- highlights and accomplishments from the past year were show cased.
- Board members were welcomed back.

# AGM6206 Moved by Diane Bourbeau, seconded by Michelle Mastellotto That all contracts, bylaws, proceedings, appointments, elections and payments and acts made, done and taken by the Directors and Officers of the Association since the last annual meeting of the members be and the same are hereby approved, ratified and confirmed. Carried

#### 10. Induction of Members to the Board of Directors

- Gerry Trottier, legal counsel with the firm Bartlet & Richardes, was introduced and performed the induction ceremony of the Board of Directors.
- the Board of Directors is pleased to confirm the Executive Committee and Members of the Board:
  - Sue Desjarlais, President
  - Chad Sutherland, 1st Vice President
  - Michelle Mastellotto, 2nd Vice President
  - Gillian Heisz, Treasurer
  - Robert Tomek, Past President
  - Diane Bourbeau, Director
  - Ron Giofu, Director
  - Sharon O'Hagan-Wong, Director
  - Brianne Taggart, Director
  - Ian Phillips, Director
  - Ray Renaud, Director
  - Secretary to the Board, Karen Bolger, Executive Director
- the inducted Board of Directors was thanked and congratulated!

#### 11. Recognition of Board Members

• This year there are no changes to the Executive Committee and no Board members with terms ending

- this evening.
- All Board members were thanked for their dedication, volunteerism and ongoing meaningful contributions to the agency.

#### 12. Motion to Adjourn

• Sue confirmed the award presentations will follow the motion to adjourn the business portion of the AGM.

AGM6207	Moved by Ron Giofu, seconded by Chad Sutherland That the 62 <sup>nd</sup> Annual General Meeting be adjourned at 7:42 pm.
	Carried

#### 13. Awards and Presentations

- The awards were presented in advance of the AGM to the following recipients:
  - o Brianne Taggart, Advocacy Champion Award
  - o Robert Wilson, Outstanding Achievement Award
  - o Brodie Morin, Community Leadership Award
  - o Nicole Canzoneri, Inspiring Possibilities Youth Award
  - o Sutton Creek Golf Club, Community Ambassador Award
  - Audrey Bajic, Families for Inclusion Award
  - o Paisley Bartlam, The Kevin McMullan Memorial Award
  - o Jennifer David, The Jeremy Hart Memorial Bursary
- A slide presentation included photos of recipients with their award and quotes from them.
- A yearbook of all employees receiving length of service awards this year was played.
- All award and milestone recipients were congratulated.
- Sue thanked everyone for joining the 62<sup>nd</sup> Annual General Meeting virtually and signed off the meeting at 8:05 pm with thanks to everyone for their contributions and commitment to Community Living Essex County.